16 and Pregnant Star Tyler- Ignorance is Bliss

Before I start, first head on over to the First Mother Forum and read the rage levied at everyone over there from 16 and Pregnant reality TV star, Tyler Baltierra (of Catelynn and Tyler fame).  If you don’t know who he is, he and his girlfriend are the current poster children for Bethany Christian Services and the adoption industry in general.  They have starred on every season of  Teen Mom and were in the original series, 16 and Pregnant.  They are first parents.

Pawns for the Adoption Industry

I have commented over at FMF but I still have so much grrrrrr left in me that I need to vent it out.  And so…vent commencing…

An Open Letter to Tyler Baltierra

I have tremendous empathy for you, Tyler and Catelynn, really I do.  I was once a newborn first mother trying desperately to justify giving away my son.  Had I read FMF back then, I probably would have been angry at first too.  FMF does not discuss the virtues of adoption.  It is not all rainbows and unicorn farts (which smell like cherry lemonade by the way) over there.  Loraine and Jane are in the trenches, talking about the hard topics, trying to make a difference.  If just one scared pregnant mother reads through FMF and decided to raise their child, it is well worth their efforts.  Tyler, calling these women bitter and ignorant is incorrect.  Angry about the adoption industry, for sure.  Ignorant of it, absolutely not.  The word ignorant does not apply here.  In fact, Tyler, I am unsure if you really know what the word, ignorant, means.  It seems that you believe it to mean: does not agree with Tyler.  Many people disagree with me, but they are not all ignorant, although I would like to believe they are.  It might be helpful to have the actual definition in front of you. Just click on ignorant and voila!

I think it’s great that you now know the last names of the people raising your daughter and their address.  I haven’t kept up much with your reality show, but last I saw neither of these things were true.  I’m glad your daughter’s parents decided to give you this information.  However, this minor detail (sarcasm intended) probably should have been discussed with Dawn (oh I’ll get to her in a minute) before you handed over your child.  In all actuality, in most cases, open adoptions tend to start to shut but it seems yours is going in the other direction which is wonderful.

In the next paragraph you say you are fully aware that the a-parents can close the adoption at any time and that is apparently fine with you.  You say you chose them and they have complete control.  Wowzers.  I’m not sure that most people would be okay with others exerting that much control over their lives.  I’m not quite sure I believe that you would be okay with Carly’s parents deciding to close all communication with you and moving to another country.  You go on to say that you have FAITH and then proceed to define FAITH as, “believing in something when everyone surrounding you tells you not to”. It seems to me that everyone around YOU in particular was/is counting on you and Catelynn having faith that things will turn out wonderful.  I’m not sure that I would rely on having faith when it came to having on going communication with my child.  I think by faith, you mean that you truly have no alternative at this point but to believe the a-parents.  I mean, you can’t do anything about it now if they chose to close the adoption.  I sincerely hope that doesn’t happen, for Carly’s sake.  You should know that her a-parents have plenty of reasons to close it at this point, primarily the fact that you and Catelynn could be seen as doing harm to Carly’s mental health by appearing on a reality show centered around her adoption.  Just keep that in mind.

You say that you researched “everything about adoption” prior to making your decision.  So let me get this straight, you knew beforehand that the best thing for an infant is to stay with its mother. You knew about the life long repercussions for Carly even if she had a wondrous, rainbow filled life?  You knew that there was no guarantee that the adoption would stay open?  You knew how much money BCS would be making off of your daughter if you placed her? If all of that is true, I commend you because I certainly did not have any of that information nor was it offered to me by my “counselor”.

Now onto the reality tv portion of this diatribe.  You say that no one knows everything about your life just because you were on tv.  I agree.  However, isn’t the purpose of you being on reality tv to show us, the viewer, how adoption is affecting your lives?  If not, I’m just not getting it.  You really can’t have it both ways.  You can’t act all shaken and angry when someone comments on your VERY PUBLIC personal life.  It is your choice to be in the public eye.  You make money from being in the public eye.  You should be aware that there will be scrutiny.  Welcome to the 21st century.

Some of the comments on FMF refer to Dawn, your counselor extraordinaire.  If you haven’t already, you both really need to go to a therapist or counselor that is separate from your adoption agency. Dawn had a vested interest in getting your daughter. She is employed by the agency, she earns a paycheck from the agency. Ask yourself if she would still be employed by that agency if she failed to convince women to give up their children. She also has a vested interest in you and Catelynn being vocal supporters of the adoption industry. She has no vested interest in your ACTUAL well being. She is the agency. She needs you to stay positive and vocal about adoption. You are their spokesperson and they MAKE MONEY FROM YOU being positive about adoption. Adoption agencies make money from adoption. A lot of money. Billions of dollars in fact. Please understand this and be informed. Whether or not you did the right thing for Carly in the long run, they still make money from you. Don’t let them use you both like this. Don’t let them profit from your misery. The Adoption Industry is making money from convincing women they are making a selfless decision and choosing a loving option. In what other context is giving a child away selfless or loving?

Lastly, I need to address why I, personally, take issue with you and Catelynn.  People take issue with your circumstance because you are using it to coerce other birth parents into giving away their child. And since I am a birth mother, no I did not make an adoption plan, I gave my son away. No amount of positive adoption language is going to change that. If I may ask, how many birth mothers who have given their children up for adoption 10 plus years ago are ever present in your support groups or panel discussions? Close to zero, I’d wager. Do you ever wonder why that is so? These are very important questions to ask yourselves.

Please, at the very least, do some research into adult adoptee issues. Listen to the people who have gone before you, listen to their truths. Consider the facts and decide if you and Catelynn really want to be a part of contributing to the misery of other children and their birth parents by touting the virtues of adoption. Don’t react, take a deep breath, and seek out the truth of adoption. It will be painful to read what others have to say, but it will be worth it.

Catelynn and Tyler are Adoption Industry Pawns

No, my open letter is probably not the kindest.  I do empathize with them to a point.  However I do harbor my fair share of anger at them for being pawns in the war against scared expectant mothers.  In my view, a woman who is truly sure that adoption is the right choice for her isn’t going to give a crap what the Tyler and Catelynns of the world say.  It’s the women who are scared and unsure that I worry about.  It’s the women who are so much like I was that break my heart.  They need someone to guide them in the other direction, not toward adoption.  They don’t need newly made first parents singing from the hilltops about adoption, they need fully versed first parents like Loraine and Jane to tell them what they may not want to hear, but what they NEED to hear.

4 comments

  1. Rhea Gee

    I totally agreed with everything that you have said and that Catelynn and Tyler should read this and understand what BCS is doing to them.

Leave a Reply

