Wherefore Art Thou Internet?

 

Way back when in 1998 the internet was in its infancy.  Sure it was there, but it wasn’t ingrained in everything like it is today.  I think I MAY have had an email address back then, but I’m not sure.

I have found so many wonderful blogs and resources about adoption from every imaginable angle.  Oh how I wish I had access to all of the information in 1998.

When my adoption went through, I truly was only hearing one point of view from my adoption counselor.  And because she was so kind and nice to me, I felt that she understood me.  I blindly trusted that she was presenting all the information available to me.  If only I had known then what I know now.

If she was truly looking out for my best interests, she would have given me access to birth mothers who were UNHAPPY with their decision as well as happy.

She would have given me access to not only one on one counseling but also support groups for birth mothers.  How wonderful would it have been to be able to talk to other mothers who truly understood what I was going through.

I am so grateful to the support groups I have found online with women who “get it.”  It should be a mandatory part of the process for expecting mothers considering relinquishment to read some of what birth mothers say about their experiences.  Experiences a year out versus experiences 10 to 20 years out.  Especially because for me at least, there is a difference between how I felt a year after and how I feel today.

Thank you, Internet, for providing resources and reading materials that don’t gloss over what adoption can really mean for us…a lifetime of pain and guilt.

 

Leave a Reply

